Blue Screen 7b after Windows update

I dual boot Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit and Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit and today(4/28/2013) I ran Windows update on Both partitions and when restarting the Vista partition I ended up with a STOP 0x0000007B: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE Blue Screen which is a problem with the disk or driver best I can find.

The Windows 7 partition worked fine so I tried running check disk from Win 7 against that drive letter for Vista and it found and repaired some problems but still crashed on reboot and would not create a new boot log to help with the troubleshooting.

After looking around some more and not finding the source of the problem I put in the OEM Vista disk and started it up with that, and then clicked on repair windows instillation.

See these links for directions.

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/91467-startup-repair.html

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/194765-system-recovery-options.html

After that run for a bit it finally came back with the source of the problem “A patch is preventing the system from starting”

And the Resolution was “Repair action: System Restore”

Thankfully I still had system restore enabled to fix the problem easily.

After the system restore was completed the system was able to boot into Vista again.

I still can not find a log file or trouble report that points at which Update(“Patch”) was causing the problem, there were 8 security updates that were important.

The log file for the startup troubleshooter can be found in %Windows%\System32\LogFiles\Srt and the file name is SrtTrail.txt . There it shows at the end what it says caused the problem.

Hope this helps someone.

About pcsxcetrasupport3

My part time Business, I mainly do system building and system repair. Over the last several years I have been building system utility's in vb script , HTA applications and VB.Net to be able to better find the information I need to better understand the systems problems in order to get the systems repaired and back to my customers quicker.
This entry was posted in System Trouble Shooting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.